How to Obtain Your Texas LTC Online
18–20-year-olds can now get a Concealed Carry in Texas. The new age requirement for the Texas License to Carry – Texas Concealed Carry is now only 18 years old per Federal Court Ruling.
Firearms Policy Coalition, Inc. et. al., v. Steven McCraw, et. al., No. 4:21-cv-1245-P
To help you protect yourself and others, it is now easier than ever to get your concealed handgun license (CHL) in the beautiful state of Texas. In fact, from the comfort
of your own home with an internet connection; there’s no longer any need for attending classes at a local firing range or physical training sessions that take up so much time! Let us dive into what exactly goes on during these types
What is Texas LTC Online?
If you’re new to Texas, the process of getting a handgun license has changed. Now it’s as simple and quick as taking an online course! You’ll be able to meet all requirements for your LTC with ease thanks this modern technology that lets people learn from home or work on their own time–no inconvenient in-person classes necessary anymore (unless there are no computers available).
A Look Inside Our Texas Handgun Online LTC Class
While every carry class will be different, we designed our online training to ensure that you can take it with you on the go. It’s easy-to use and considers your time restrictions so as long as there is Wi-Fi connection available at any time during work hours or after lunchtime when most people have a little freer downtime than usual – then all systems are GO! Our goal was also creating engaging content which makes learning enjoyable for everyone involved; who wouldn’t want their lessons written down in such an interesting way?
What are the Requirements to Carry in Texas?
Texas has finally joined the 21st century and become a modern state. As of now, you can legally conceal or open carry with your LTC in Texas! You do have to meet all qualifications for both classes – including passing an exam on gun law regulations- but they’re combined into one thing called the “Texas License to Carry.” The paperwork is handled through our website so that everything’s easy peasy lemon squeezy (or however THAT goes). This certification lasts 5 years from date issued which means if it were me, I’d hurry up before my permit expired recently…
Per the present gun laws, to legally carry you must:
- Complete the classroom training (either online or locally) and pass a live-fire shooting exam with a certified, local instructor
- Pass a background check, ruling out any applicants that may have a disqualifying criminal history
- Be at least 21 years of age to take the live-fire portion of the test (the training beforehand can be done at 20 years of age through certain exceptions)
- Possess and maintain a clean criminal and psychological record
This is, of course, to even be able to legally obtain an LTC. There are also further rules for where a person may carry. Even in Texas, there are areas that will forever be considered gun-free zones.
Schools, courtrooms, airports, polling places, and even banks are some of these gun-free zones, and it’s a third-degree felony to carry any type of gun into these locations.
Businesses can opt out of allowing guns on their premises as well, though they must post signs in both English and Spanish. The reason for this law is that businesses consider themselves private property – meaning those inside generally have exclusive use over atmosphere unless explicitly granted by another person or organization outside its walls (such as a hotel). However, libraries fall under different guidelines since it’s considered public space where anyone may enter at any time without question; thusly there should be no need bulletin boards announcing, “no firearms.”
There are some narrow exceptions to the no-carry rule, such as police officers and other emergency personnel on duty. But those who carry handguns for self-defense can do so legally when going between their home or business property to wherever they need/wish go in relation with it – even if this means just getting groceries at your local grocery store!
More About Our Online Texas License to Carry Course
Gun laws are constantly changing, so it’s important to keep up with the latest trends. Open carry is legal in most states with an LTC, and we discussed what that entails for you as well! However, there are still some requirements involved before qualifying – Texas falls under “Shall Issue” jurisdiction meaning anyone can own guns if they’re at least 18 years old or older.
This is because our gun laws do not regulate the possession of firearms. The only requirement for ownership is that you must not be a convicted felon and it helps explain why we see kids practicing shooting or hunting before they turn 18 as these falls under parental discretion when determining what age illusions will suffice; if any at all
Still have questions? That’s okay, we still have answers! Keep reading below to take a peek at our most frequently asked questions.
Interested in Getting Your Texas LTC Online?
Our Texas Carry Online Course offers an easy, convenient way to get your LTC training. You can do it on the go with a smartphone or another mobile device!
We’re not through yet! You learned about getting your LTC, but you may still have more questions. Take a look at our most commonly asked questions on our FAQs Page or be sure to reach out if we still didn’t answer the question you have. We’re happy to assist you at any time!
Originally posted on March 15, 2022 @ 8:08 pm