I often get asked is the LTC worth getting?
The answer is unequivocally YES! LTC holders in Texas have additional privileges than Constitutional Carry holders. Here’s a look at the benefits of taking our online Texas LTC class.
Anyone who wishes to carry in Texas should get a Texas license to carry in order to avoid the restrictions and limits that come with carrying without a license. When you have a Texas license to carry, you are always better off and have additional safeguards.
Anyone who is serious about carrying will still obtain a Texas license to carry (LTC), which has fewer restrictions, permits you to carry in more areas, and gives legal protection. Who wants to carry when there are limits and no trespass protection?
Texas LTC will provide Reciprocity to carry in other states if a Reciprocal Agreement exists. It enables you to have a pistol in your car when dropping off/picking up students at school. However, under the Federal Gun-Free School Zone Act, Constitutional Carry would be forbidden from possessing a handgun within 1,000 feet of a school.
Employees of school districts who have been awarded a Texas LTC are entitled to keep a handgun and ammo hidden in their locked motor vehicle in a school parking lot.
When purchasing a firearm from an FFL, Texas LTC offers a legal exemption from the NICS background check.
A Texas LTC holder is only banned in certain locations if effective notice has been issued under Penal Code 30.06 and 30.07. A bearer of a Texas LTC will be permitted to carry during an open meeting of a governmental organization.
The statutory restriction on carrying a pistol inside a bar does not apply to a Texas LTC holder unless the establishment has displayed a 51 percent sign as required by law.
A Texas LTC holder can escape arrest if they mistakenly carry a firearm into a protected section of an airport as long as they leave the secured area as soon as they are informed that they are in possession of a pistol.
What Is the Texas Carry Permit?
The Texas LTC was necessary to carry a weapon, concealed or openly, until HB 1927 passed—and you still need one until HB 1927 becomes law on September 1, 2021. People who are legally entitled to possess and carry weapons will be able to carry their guns without a permission in Texas after HB 1927 takes effect—to a point. This is when your LTC will come in helpful. The new legislation prohibits you from carrying wherever and anyplace. That implies that if you wish to carry in other places, including other states, you’ll require an LTC.
Permitless carry is not subject to the same rules and restrictions as holding an LTC. You can’t carry in the same locations, you have to respect ANY form of no gun or no carry sign, you don’t have trespass protection, and the penalties are harsher.
Obtaining a Texas license to carry is the only way to avoid the limitations that come with permitless carry. It also gives you safeguards that you can only acquire if you have a license.