Concealed Carry is not limited to some states, the practice of concealed carry is permitted in nearly every state for as long as you follow the local and state rules.
Carrying concealed is very good as it is great for any self-defense and is allowed without a permit under constitutional carry.
Texas is a great place to conceal carry as Texas gun laws are some of the most relaxed in the country.
Now, before you go carrying your handgun concealed, there are a few things you need to take into consideration.
In Texas, if an applicant passes certain qualifications, then the DPS will issue them a license to conceal carry.
To be eligible for concealed carry, one must:
- Be at least 21 years old (18 Now with New Court Ruling)
- Fully qualify under both state and federal law to possess a handgun (Reference DPS website for more detail)
- Never have committed a felony
- Not be a fugitive of law for either a felony, Class A or B misdemeanor.
- Be a legal resident of Texas for 6 months before the application or meet special eligibility (Reference DPS website for detail)
***Note: Not everyone requires a permit, permit-less carry is allowed as of September 1, 2021***
- Not be chemically dependent, such as on a substance physically.
- Have been deemed with the ability to exercise sound judgment regarding the proper handling of a firearm.
- (Refer to the DPS website for specific details)
These are just the main things a person must pass in order to conceal carry.
For more detailed information, please refer to the DPS website.
Where you can/cannot carry
There are quite a few places you can carry concealed, mainly your own property or an area that does not have a no firearm sign.
Other places include National parks and restaurants; however, the restaurant must not make more than 50% of its total income from alcohol and you must stay away from the buildings in the national park.
For this reason, it is important to know where you are headed if you are conceal carrying as some places may allow it and others may not.
Texas law clearly states the areas in which you cannot conceal carry at all. Such places are any educational institutions/schools, places of worship, or any area in which government activity is taking place.
These are just the major areas where concealed carry is simply not permitted.
There are more specific places as well where concealed carry is not allowed.
Please refer to the DPS website for more details.
Do I need an LTC to conceal carry?
Well, ever since the constitutional carry law was passed in September of 2021, Texans ages 21 years and up do not need a license to conceal carry as long as they meet certain qualifications.
However, we recommend still getting an LTC.
An LTC provides invaluable information about how to both handle your handgun and knowledge of the laws and regulations which will save you many troubles in the future.